7 min read

Washington State Minimum Wage 2026 - 2027: Everything You Need to Know

Washington State Minimum Wage 2026 - 2027: Everything You Need to Know

All workers in Washington State (WA) are entitled to receive an hourly Minimum Wage rate according to Washington Labor Laws and the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). This Minimum Wage requirement includes a special wage rate for minors. In addition, there are multiple local municipalities in Washington State that have their own minimum wage ordinances as well.

Employees must be compensated for all hours worked in Washington State, and such compensation must be compliant with Washington Minimum Wage Law.

Effective Date Washington Minimum Wage

January 1st, 2023

$15.74 per hour

January 1st, 2024

$16.28 per hour

January 1st, 2025

$16.66 per hour

January 1st, 2026

$17.13 per hour

January 1st, 2027

$17.73 per hour

 

In areas outside Seattle, SeaTac, Tukwila, Bellingham, Burien, Everett, King County, and Renton, the Washington State Minimum Wage is $17.13 per hour as of January 1st, 2026.

Starting January 1st, 2027, the Washington State Minimum Wage is adjusted to $17.73 per hour.

Seattle, SeaTac, Tukwila, Bellingham, Burien, Everett, King County, and Renton have their own local minimum wage rates (see below).

Minimum wage is the cornerstone of all Washington Payroll Laws, and so it is crucial to keep your business up to date.

Washington State Minimum Wage for 2026 and 2027

In areas outside Seattle, SeaTac, Tukwila, Bellingham, Burien, Everett, King County, and Renton, the Washington State Minimum Wage is $17.13 per hour, effective January 1st, 2026.

Starting January 1st, 2027, the Washington State minimum wage increases to $17.73 per hour.

Because Seattle, SeaTac, Tukwila, Bellingham, Burien, Everett, King County, and Renton have their own ordinances that determine the minimum wage, these localities also adjusted their minimum wage rates for 2026 and 2027 separately from the statewide rate (see sections below).

Washington State Minimum Wage Schedule

Every September, the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries evaluates the cost of living using the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W) and adjusts the minimum wage accordingly. Each year, a minimum wage update will be announced on September 30th and take effect on January 1st of the following year.

Important to note for Washington State Employers is that all tips and service charges must be paid to the employee, and they can not be counted toward an employee's hourly minimum wage.

Employers must also ensure they understand Federal Overtime-Exempt requirements as well as the Washington State overtime requirements, in order to fully manage compliance with wage and payroll requirements.

WA Minimum Wage Qualifications

Most agricultural and non-agricultural jobs qualify for the minimum wage. However, there are certain exemptions. 

Exemptions to WA Minimum Wage

Employers can apply for a sub-minimum wage certificate for the following types of workers:

  • Certificated on-the-job learners (no less than 85%)
  • Certificated student workers and student learners (no less than 75%)
  • Certificated workers with disabilities
  • Certain apprentices
  • Certain minors
  • Jobs exempt from the Minimum Wage Act

Special Wage Rate for Minors

In Washington State, employees who are between the ages of 14 and 15 may be compensated at a wage rate of no less than 85% of the minimum wage. 

Local Washington State Minimum Wage Rates

The cities of Seattle, SeaTac, Tukwila, Bellingham, Burien, Everett, King County, and Renton currently have separate minimum wage rates.

Seattle Minimum Wage

Effective January 1st, 2026, the Seattle Minimum Wage is $21.30 per hour. This new wage applies to all Seattle employers regardless of employer size, if an employee receives tips regularly, or if the employer pays towards medical benefits.

Starting on January 1st, 2027, the Seattle minimum wage adjusts to $22.14 per hour.

Since January 1st, 2025, employers can no longer compensate employees at a lower wage rate if the employer paid $2.72 towards medical benefits, or the employee earned at least that much per hour in tips.

SeaTac Minimum Wage

Effective January 1st, 2026, the SeaTac Minimum Wage is $20.74 per hour for Hospitality and Transportation Industry employers only.

Starting on Janaury 1st, 2027, the SeaTac minimum wage for hospitality and transportation employers adjusts to $21.47 per hour.

Note that SeaTac qualifies the affected employers as such:

  • Hospitality Employers: Those operating within the city limits and have 100 or more guest rooms AND employers with 30 or more workers operating foodservice or retail operations employing 10 or more non-managerial roles.

  • Transportation Employers: Those providing general services regarding passengers, baggage, and aircraft maintenance (check the SeaTac minimum wage ordinance for details) 

Tukwila Minimum Wage

Tukwila Minimum Wage applies to employers who have 15 or more workers worldwide, or who earn more than $2 million in annual gross revenue in Tukwila, or who are franchisees or a network of franchises with over 500 employees worldwide.

Effective January 1st, 2026, the Tukwila minimum wage is $21.65 per hour and can include commissions but not tips.

Starting on January 1st, 2027, the Tukwila minimum wage adjusts to $22.45 per hour.

Since July 1st, 2025, the minimum wage no longer depends on employer size. 

Bellingham Minimum Wage

Effective January 1st, 2026, the Bellingham minimum wage is $19.13 per hour.

Future increases will be set at $2.00 above the state minimum wage each year.

In accordance with the rules of the Bellingham Minimum Wage ordinance, the minimum wage in Bellingham for 2027 is $19.73 per hour, $2.00 more than the 2027 state rate.

Burien Minimum Wage

As of October 28th, 2024, Burien passed its own minimum wage law that applies to employers with over 20 employees. New rates go into effect January 1st, 2027. 

The applicable Burien Minimum Wage rate depends on the employer size:

  • Large Employers - (501 employees or more)
    • For 2026, the Level 1 minimum wage is $21.78 per hour.
    • For 2027, the Level 1 minimum wage is $22.49 per hour.
  • Medium Employers - (16-500 employees)
    • For 2026, the Level 1 minimum wage is $20.78 per hour.
    • For 2027, the Level 2 minimum wage is $22.49 per hour, mirroring the Level 1 rate going forward.
  • Small Employers - (15 or fewer employees)
    • For 2026, the Level 3 minimum wage is $19.28.
    • For 2027, the Level 3 minimum wage is $20.49.

Note that the original employer size qualifications set in 2024 were since clarified and updated under an amendment to the Fair Labor Standards Ordinance that went into effect March 23, 2025.

Everett

The Everett Minimum Wage is dependent on the size of the employer or the annual gross income of the business. 

The applicable Everett Minimum Wage rate depends on the employer size:

  • Large Employers - (500 employees or more)
    • For 2026, the large employer minimum wage is $20.77 per hour.
    • For 2027, the large employer minimum wage is $21.52 per hour.
  • Covered Employers - (15-499 employees, or an annual gross income of over $2 million in Everett)
    • For 2026, effective between July 1st and December 31st, the covered employer minimum wage is $19.77 per hour.
      • The previous 2026 rate effective between January 1st and June 30th was $18.77 per hour.
    • For 2027, effective between January 1st and June 30th, the covered employer minimum wage is $20.52 per hour.

Note that the covered employer minimum wage is scheduled to adjust to $21.52 per hour starting July 1st, 2027, mirroring the large employer rate.

King County

King County Minimum Wage depends on the size and annual gross income of the business. 

The applicable King County Minimum Wage rate depends on the employer size:

  • Large Employers - (500 employees  or more)
    • For 2026, the large employer minimum wage is $20.82 per hour.
    • For 2027, the large employer minimum wage is $21.57 per hour.
  • Mid-Size Employers - (15 or fewer employees and an annual gross revenue of at least $2 million, OR, more than 15 employees but fewer than 500 employees)
    • For 2026, the mid-size employer minimum wage is $19.82 per hour.
    • For 2027, the mid-size employer minimum wage is $21.57 per hour, mirroring the large employer rate.
  • Small Employers - (15 or fewer employees and an annual gross revenue of less than $2 million)
    • For 2026, the small employer minimum wage is $18.32 per hour.
    • For 2027, the small employer minimum wage is $19.57 per hour.

Renton Minimum Wage

The Renton Minimum Wage depends on the size of the employer as well as the type of business. 

The applicable Renton Minimum Wage rate depends on the employer size:

  • Large Employers - (500 employees  or more)
    • For 2026, the large employer minimum wage is $21.57 per hour.
    • For 2027, the large employer minimum wage is $22.28 per hour.
  • Mid-Size Employers - (15 or fewer employees and an annual gross revenue of at least $2 million, OR, more than 15 employees but fewer than 500 employees)
    • For 2026, effective between July 1st and December 31st, the mid-size employer minimum wage is $21.57 per hour, mirroring the large employer rate.
      • The previous 2026 rate effective between January 1st and June 30th was $20.57 per hour.
    • For 2027, the mid-size employer minimum wage is $22.28 per hour, mirroring the large employer rate.
  • Small Employers - (15 or fewer employees and an annual gross revenue of less than $2 million)
    • For 2026, the small employer minimum wage is $17.13 per hour, mirroring the state's rate.
    • For 2027, the small employer minimum wage is $17.73 per hour, mirroring the state's rate.

Preparing for Washington State Minimum Wage Updates

If the business you own is located in Washington State, or even more importantly, Seattle, SeaTac, Tukwila, Bellingham, Burien, Everett, King County, and / or Renton, it is going to need to prepare for an increase in the minimum wage every year.

Companies with a plethora of workers who are compensated at the minimum wage will experience a rise in staffing costs, which can be disruptive to business operations if unprepared.

Here are some things the business should do to prepare for the future Washington State Minimum Wage Updates:

Businesses can also stay ahead of minimum wage updates by utilizing a labor law poster subscription service.

New call-to-action

Frequently Asked Questions

Get Help with WA Minimum Wage Compliance

Managing compliance with minimum wage might seem straightforward initially: "pay employees at least this much", but in a state like Washington with varying rules depending on employee type and business location, things can get tricky. 

For instance, regardless of Washington State At-Will Employment, employers may not fire or otherwise retaliate against an employee who exercises a protected right, files or intends to file a complaint, or who has discussed potential violations of their rights under Washington State Minimum Wage.

There are also many other Washington Labor Law updates that happen frequently, prompting employers in the state to stay ahead of evolving rules or risk non-compliance penalties.

Businesses that are struggling with minimum wage compliance may want to consider reaching out to a Washington Payroll company for assistance. 

To learn more about how PayNW is helping countless businesses in Washington with minimum wage compliance through modern payroll software, contact us today.

How to Avoid Payroll Errors

How to Avoid Payroll Errors
Washington State Payroll Laws: What Companies Should Know

Washington State Payroll Laws: What Companies Should Know

Here is everything you need to know before processing payroll in Washington State, in regards to Washington Labor Laws, minimum wage, overtime, and...

Read More
2026-2027 Compliance Updates for Washington State

2026-2027 Compliance Updates for Washington State

Employers need to be aware of several compliance updates that go into effect in 2026, including minimum wage and more.

Read More
Mid-Year Minimum Wage Increases: What Employers Need to Know for July 1, 2026

Mid-Year Minimum Wage Increases: What Employers Need to Know for July 1, 2026

Prepare for the July 1, 2026 minimum wage increases across Alaska, Oregon, Washington D.C., and California. Ensure compliance before your next...

Read More